How to write 1000 words a day (and not go bat shit crazy)

The Thesis Whisperer

Recently I Tweeted a link to an article called “How to write 1000 words a day for your blog” which I thought had some good productivity tips for thesis writers. @webnemesis wrote back: ” would like to see someone write a blog post on how to write 1000 words of substance for yr dissertation every day”. Of course I answered: “Challenge? Accepted!”

When I was nearing the end of my PhD, I added up the number of words I had to write and divided them by the number of days of study leave I had left. Then I freaked out and had to have a little lie down. According to my calculations I had to write 60,000 words in 3 months.

After a  cup of tea (with maybe just a whiff of scotch in it) I contemplated this problem and made a PLAN, which was cobbled together from all the advice books on writing I…

View original post 929 more words

About Neni Marlina

Graduated from Master of Natural Hazards and Disasters, Research School of Earth Science, the Australian National University, Canberra, works as a humanitarian in disaster management.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

